MENU

School History

Hastings School History
‚Äč

Our school was built in 1970. It was named after Elsie Hastings in recognition of her 43 year teaching career in the Westborough Public Schools. Miss Hastings was a life-long resident of Westborough. She was born November 10, 1870, and graduated from Westborough High School in 1889. She attended Worcester Normal School, now Worcester State College, from 1892-1894. Miss Hastings was 100 years old when Hastings School was first dedicated on October 2, 1970. Although blind, she was still active around her home and enjoyed recalling her many teaching experiences. She died on March 25, 1971 at the age of 100 years, 5 months, and 15 days.

  The building has many characteristics that make it unique:

  • We are set up in pods, rather than hallways.
  • We are built on the edge of Cedar Swamp, which is wonderful when we teach science units.
  • Our building is heated and cooled by a ground-source heat-pump system.

Hastings currently has 511 students in grades pre-K to grade 3. We have 4 kindergartens, 5 first grades, 5 second grades, and 5 third grades. Each grade works very closely under the direction of the team leader. Each grade has special activities that they participate in during the school year. We also have school-wide events that involve all students: a school-wide home reading program, Dance Day, Field Day, Family Fun Day, a Cultural Fair, and Purple Day.